Burda 3177

flanneldress1flanneldressback

This dress is so cute, but not overly frou-frou, and with the vest, you don’t have to worry about matching plaids. I’m too impatient to do that.

However, if you do decide to go with a plaid, I’d recommend making sure you can straighten the fabric before taking the plunge. This was my first plaid garment, but it was not the first time I dealt with a fabric that was off grain. Unfortunately, I was not able to straighten the fabric. You can see the drift in the image. Even though I was not able to straighten this fabric, I decided to make the dress out of it anyway. So far, no one has commented on the fabric being off grain.

The instructions are good, and the sewing is easy. However, the sleeve cap is way too big for the armhole. I gathered it as much as I could, and it was still too big. I had to do some major trimming.

I would rate this as “I would definitely sew again”, but DD is on a dress strike. Unless it’s hot pink, she won’t wear anything but knit pants and t-shirts. Maybe by the time she’s in a size 8, I’ll be able to make it again, if it’s still in fashion.

Leave a Reply

