Quilted Reversible Vest by Birch Street Clothing

Quilted Reversible Vest Pattern

denimVestFrontdenimVestBack

This side uses a striped denim that I tye-bleached, tye-dyed with a purple dye, and painted with black and purple fabric paints in a splotchy pattern. My 3 year old daughter and I finished the painting by adding teal and blue splotches here and there as accents. All of the detail doesn’t show in the images, but you can see the tye-dye/bleach effect.

The final touch was to couch teal, blue, navy, and black yarns.

piecedFrontpiecedBack

The second side is pieced in the style of Yvonne Porcella‘s book Magical Four-Patch and Nine-Patch Quilts. I used Warm&Natural cotton batt and quilted this layer to the batt with no backing in sweeping arcs using a black metallic thread.

The closure uses snaps. I recommend the Snap-Setter brand.

Pattern Description: This is a reversible vest with a shirt-tail hem and stand up collar. The pattern is supposed to be a thick, downy vest.

Pattern Sizing: It’s child sized. There is an adult version as well.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except that instead of using 2 layers of high loft batt, I used 1 layer of Warm&Natural, so my version is much flatter.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The pattern only has 2 pattern pieces, the vest and the neckband. I’m not sure that makes it easier, especially in the larger sizes where you would have to lay the pattern out longways instead of from selvage to selvage. However, since I was using 72 inch wide denim for one side and piecing the other side, having to only cut out one vest piece made things much simpler.

The seam allowance was only 1/4 inch. I had enough trouble maintaining a consistant 1/4 inch with 1 layer of thin batt. I can’t imagine how it can be possible with 2 layers of high loft batt.

It recommends snap closures which are my favorite closures.

Fabric Used: I used quilting cottons for the pieced side. They were quilted to the Warm&Natural without a backing, using a black metallic thread. Unfortunately this doesn’t show up in the photo.

The denim side is a heavier 100% denim that I tye-bleached, tye-dyed, and fabric painted before embellishing further with couched yarns and threads.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I used 1 layer of Warm&Natural cotton batt instead of 2 layers of high loft polyester batt.

The pattern calls for quilting one side in horizontal lines. I chose to quilt the pieced side using gently curving lines in all directions.

I did not use the pockets. I debated this, but decided that they would interfer with the embellishments too much.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Absolutely, but I would stick with the low loft cotton batt. It’s a great vest for children, and I think for adults (different pattern number). I think it cries out for surface manipulation and embellishment, but that’s my speciality.

And I think I would add welt pockets instead of the patch pockets. I think the pockets are a very functional addition, and the welt pockets won’t interfer with the surface design like a patch pocket would. Unfortunately, I didn’t learn how to do this until after I finished the vest.

Conclusion I’m not sure a pattern could be easier. I plan on using it for future gift vests as well as vests for my daughter and son.

Leave a Reply

