New Look 6977 Tank Top

brownTank1brownTankBack

Pattern Description:  Summer Wardrobe: tank top, t-shirt, medium & long skirt, and pants. I made the tank top.

Pattern Sizing: 8-18. All of the shaping in this top occurs in the center back and side seams, so it is very important to make this out of a stretchy knit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
No facings! I hate facings on knit patterns. Nothing screams homemade more to me than one of my crummy, ugly, stiff, fusible tricot facings on a knit garment.

I had some trouble sewing the neckline on one garment. I know there’s lots of places online and in books that tell you how to stabilize the neckline w/o a facing, but I wish the pattern had more information.

purpleTop3purpleTop1

Fabric Used:
I’ve made the top twice. The first one was in 100% polyestester slinky knit; the second was in a cotton (blend, maybe) knit. The slinky knit is much stretchier. The cotton knit just barely had the recommended amount of stretch for the pattern.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I shortened the pattern between the shoulder seam and the bust. I’m a D cup, so I have problems with gaping and bra exposure at the armpit. I’ve tried doing a bit of gathering at the armhole, but what works the best for me, on a knit tank top, is to shorten it above the bust. I’m probably short thru there because my torso is shorter than my legs which is not the American norm. Anyway, this alteration pulls the side up under my arm, hiding my bra, and I find it an easy alteration. One that I can do after the top is finished, too.

I graded the pattern up to a 20 for the first top (the brown slinky). It turned out to be a too big. So when I made the purple cotton top, I made an 18. It was tighter then I would choose; however, I get all sorts of compliments on the tight, purple top, and I think it does emphasize the hourglass figure.

If I knew then what I knew now, I would probably make the slinky one in the smaller size and the cotton one in the larger size.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I plan on making more of these. I really like it. I highly recommend it.

Conclusion It’s an excellent tank top for curvy women.

Leave a Reply

