Simplicity 8136

Simplicity 8136 OOP

Pattern Description:
Wardrobe of dress in 2 lengths, tunic, pants, and shorts. I made the tunic. Pattern envelope back.

Pattern Sizing: 6-22.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes. There are only 2 pattern pieces.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The tunic flares at the hips. It’s very flattering in a drapy fabric. I haven’t been happy with the t-shirt patterns that I’ve tried. They tend to be too straight thru the hips for me. In theory, that’s an easy alteration, but it involves iteration.

Fabric Used: I’ve made this top twice: in a sheer poly (that’s the one pictured) and in a brown silk chiffon.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: 
I eliminated the facings. I used binding on the poly top and a rolled edge in wooly nylon on the silk top. Because I used the serger on the brown top, I altered the construction order to avoid serging in the round.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I really like this top, and I get compliments when I wear it. So far I made the top as a tunic. I plan on making more tunics and to shorten the top a bit to make t-shirts.

Conclusion
This is a very nice, very simple pattern for t-shirt/tunic out of a drapey woven fabric.

Leave a Reply

