New Look 6188

Pattern Description:  Assymetric knit skirt with gathered side or front

Pattern SpurpleSkirtizing: 8-18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, but I didn’t look the model at all.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I thought this skirt was really fun. I almost didn’t try the pattern because of the picture of the model in the catalog. I’m rather tubby around the middle, so I knew the drop waist look would be awful on me, but I thought maybe I could wear it like the drawings.

The pattern helps camoflauge the tubby tummy once a waistband is added.

The slit is a little high for me to wear the skirt with the slit in front. This would be an easy alteration.

Fabric Used: Cheap cotton knit from Joann’s.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I had to grade the pattern up.

I added a waistband. That was very, very easy to do. I’m shortwaisted, so I didn’t have to add extra fabric to bring the waistband up to my waist. Usually, I take 1.5 inches out between the waist and crotch both in front and in back in pants. Besides it’s basically a straight, knit skirt.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I would like to make more of these, and I recommend it to women of all sizes.

Conclusion It’s a fun skirt, and I get compliments when I wear it.

Leave a Reply

