Kwik Sew 2489 Boxer Shorts

UPDATE: 11/3/05
ks2489frontI’ve made several more pairs of these in leftover white cotton eyelet. I wear these under all sorts of skirts. They are very comfortable. I think I would add another couple of inches to the length so they don’t get wadded up in my crotch.ks2489back

Pattern Description:
Pull-on shorts with elastic in a casing at the waist and side hemline slits.

Pattern Sizing:
XS-XL: The pattern has lots of ease.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Taking into account my alterations: Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I’m searching for a chafe guard, and I’m hoping this pattern will be it. The pattern has only 2 pieces making it easy to alter to my purposes and fit.

Fabric Used:
$1/yd Acetate/Rayon from Joanns.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
Since this was a toile and my intention is to never wear it as a pair of shorts, I made no effort to match the stripes. And I managed to cut the fabric upside down for the back. This did make it easy to keep the back and front from being confused.

I graded up a size. After the grading: I lengthened the legs 3.5 inches. Final inseam is 6 inches. I shortened the crotchlength 4.75 inches at center front, 2.5 inches at the sides, and none at center back. I need to shorten it more all around, but this alteration got the shorts to hang straight. I decreased the waist elastic length by 2 inches.

I didn’t hem the legs. So the next one will have to have the leg hem added on.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes & yes. I’m going to try the next pair in cotton.

Conclusion
I won’t know if these will work as chafe guards until summer. I’m not sure this was the best fabric choice for that purpose, but they hang very nicely on me and feel pretty comfy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.