Simplicity 5689 – Toddler Top & Skirt

Pattern Description: Simp5689CF
Summer Wardrobe for Girls includes hat, sleeved & sleeveless dress, crop top, shorts, and skirt. I made the crop top and skirt.

Pattern Sizing:
2-6X. I made size 3 based on DD’s height. If I used her circumferential measurements, the clothes would be too short. Since DD doesn’t care if her clothes are loose and I use Sandra Betzina’s recommendation of waist elastic 1.5 inches smaller than waist measurement, the clothes fit fine.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
LIKE: The elastic for the sleeves is only on the top. For me, that would be much more comfortable than all the way around.

DISLIKE: It doesn’t say the top is a crop top, and you can’t tell from the cover. DD doesn’t care, but I would prefer a longer top for her. I think a flounce cut on the bias would be better.

Fabric Used:
Stash fabric from Joann’s clearance section. The plaid is 100% cotton, and the raspberry fabric is a nubby, drapey 100% rayon.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I used my ruffler instead of gathering for the flounce.

Next time, I’ll lengthen the shirt, and if I make the skirt, I’ll cut the flounce on the bias.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I definitely recommend the top. I might make it again. I have lots of patterns for DD, and I like to try things for her.

The skirt is okay. I think my reluctance for this specific pattern is that I really didn’t care for the style 20 years ago and my opinion hasn’t changed. It’s easy to sew.

Conclusion
A nice top with comfortable and currently fashionable sleeves. Both pieces are easy to sew.

Leave a Reply

