New Look – 6143 (Raglan Sleeve Tops)

Pattern Description: NL6143
A raglan sleeve pattern with v-neck, crew neck, and turtle neck. I made the v-neck.

Pattern Sizing/Fit:
For busts 30 1/2 inches to 46 inches. I made a size L according to my high bust of 41.5 inches. I agree with Debbie Spring’s review that the top runs large. I think the neckline is too big for me. I’m constantly shrugging and tugging to get it into place.

The pattern back talks a lot about fleece, so I wonder if this is a pattern, not for a top, but for a sweatshirt. If I made it out of fleece, I’d expect a different fit than one made out of a topweight knit. Of course, it also talks about velour (panne is stretch velour), so maybe the problem with the fit is that New Look is trying to make one pattern for a tshirt and sweatshirt.

The sleeves were a little small at the elbow and below. I’ve never had this happen before.

I found the armhole to be very low, too.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I think so. You can’t see the darts. My top is a loose, raglan t-shirt.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, but I used a different construction order to facillitate use of the serger and coverstitch.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The fit isn’t great. Since the problem is in the shoulders and neckline, it isn’t an easy alteration.

I like the style of raglan sleeve garments. I think the 2 piece sleeve gives fitting options to people who have problems there.

I didn’t care for the 3/4″ topstitching around the neckline.

Fabric Used:
Blue tie-dye burnout panne from Joann’s. I really like this fabric.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
A full bust alteration, adding 4 inches and a big ol’ dart to the front. I hemmed the sleeves and bottom before sewing the pieces closed; it’s easier to coverstitch flat on my serger. I edgestitched the neckline, and stitched in the ditch where the sleeves joined the body to secure the facing.

I probably won’t make it again, but if I do, I would lengthen it so it stayed tucked in better, maybe make a smaller size, and I’d make the sleeves a tad bigger.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
No, I wouldn’t recommend it. Neither of the other 2 reviews were positive, and the alterations needed are neckline/shoulders and armhole, not particularly easy alterations. I think people would be better off pursuing a different raglan tshirt pattern.

Conclusion
It doesn’t fit the shoulders, neckline, armholes for any of the 3 reviewers. It’s really too bad because I’ve never had a New Look pattern that I didn’t really like before. I recommend using a different brand raglan top.

Leave a Reply

