Kwik Sew 3055 (Girl’s T-shirts)

Pattern Description: kwik sew 3055
The Girls’ Tops are designed for stretch knits only with 25% stretch across the grain. Kwik Sew suggests interlock, textured knits, stretch velour, pointelle jersey or thermal knits. The pullover top has a neckline finished with self fabric binding. View A has long flared sleeves, View B has short sleeves, the bottom edges of the tops and sleeves can be hemmed or finished with lettuce edging.

I made both the long sleeve and short sleeve versions.

Pattern Sizing:
Girls 4-7. I made a size 4 based on DD’s height. It seems to fit. She’s very slight.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, I didn’t do the lettuce edging.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn’t follow them. I’ve made a lot of t-shirts, and I used the same methods on this one that I would use on a t-shirt for me.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
LIKE: The pattern is streamlined. No extra marking.
LIKE: The pieces fit well together.
LIKE: The 1/4 inch seam allowance is wonderful with my serger.
LIKE: The heavy paper that the original pattern is printed on. It’s well printed and easy to trace.
LIKE: The bell sleeves are very trendy right now.

Fabric Used:
A pink with blue flowers, cotton lycra knit, print that has been aging in my stash for at least 2 years.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I didn’t follow the cutting instructions. I wanted to use up the 33 inches of this knit (60 inches wide) on 3 t-shirts, so I squeezed things in. I was able to cut, in size 4, one short sleeve t-shirt, one long sleeve tshirt, and one tank top from another pattern.

I used a glitter blue fold over elastic on the short sleeve t-shirt. DH likes the neckband better. DD hasn’t commented.

I used the regular hem on the sleeves.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I plan on making DD several more tshirts this spring.

Kwik Sew tshirt patterns are excellent patterns, and I recommend all of them.

Conclusion
Quick, easy, great results.

Leave a Reply

