Burda Plus Fashion Magazine – 02-2003-404 (Pull On Pants)

Pattern Description: Burda Plus Spring 2003 stretch woven pull on pants
Pull on pants in a stretch woven with 2% lycra. View A has an ankle vent.

You can see the details of the pants better in the following image. Click on it for a bigger image.

Pattern Sizing:
44-54. I measure a 48, but I traced a 50 and added 1/2 inch to the outer leg seam.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
It’s hard to tell. The waist of the pants is obscured in all the photos. Other than than, the pants have 2 legs just like in the photo.

Were the instructions easy to follow?burdaPants2
Yes, they were. Sometimes the magazine instructions are difficult for me. Of course, these pants were very easy to construct.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

LIKED: Front crotch – usually I have to shorten the front crotch length by 2-3 inches. This one was perfect for me.

LIKED: They are pull on pants out of a woven. Sure, it’s got lycra, but who can tell.

DISLIKED: The waist is an elastic one w/o a band. You attach the elastic to the top of the pants, fold under, and hand stitch down. Well, I’m not going to hand stitch if I can possibly help it. I would rather make a casing or have a waistband.

Fabric Used:

Cotton gabardine with lycra from Joann’s.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I added 2 inches to the back crotch length. I used elastic that was quite a bit shorter than the recommended elastic. Instead of securing the elastic by hand, I stitched in the ditch in center front, center back, and the side seams. I finished the hems using the coverstitch on a serger.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes. I have big plans for these pants. If the burda crotch fits you, I recommend these pants.

Conclusion
Quick, easy pants that fit me.

One thought on “Burda Plus Fashion Magazine – 02-2003-404 (Pull On Pants)

  1. Pingback: Sewing, sewing, sewing | Neefer's Blog

Leave a Reply

