Burda Plus Fashion Magazine – 02-2003-409 (Pegged Knit Skirt)

Pattern Description: burda plus spring 2004 pegged knit skirt
This is a pegged skirt made out of stretch knit fabrics.

Pattern Sizing:
44-52. I traced a 48, but I added 3/4 of an inch at every seam allowance, including center back, so I added 4.5 inches.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Sorta. I was so scared mine would be small that I made it very large. Because the knit has a nice drape to it, I decided not to take it in, but next time, I’ll use a slightly bigger seam allowance. I didn’t get the bottom of the skirt in the picture, but to someone who knows about pegging, it looks pegged. If you didn’t know about pegging (ie nonsewer), it looks like a straight skirt.

Were the instructions easy to follow?burda plus spring 2004 pegged knit skirt
NONONO. They were terrible. I used a Kwik Sew back vent skirt instructions for the back vent. After that, it was just sew the sides and fold over the waistband. The instructions called for a lining, and maybe if I used a lining, I might have understood the instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
LIKE: I like pegged straight skirts.
LIKE: It’s nice and long. I like my skirts ankle length.
LIKE: It’s out of knit, so it’s very comfortable.

DISLIKE: The instructions were awful.

Fabric Used:
100% polyester stretch knit, “moleskin” I think, in a blue and brown print.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I made it much larger than the pattern, and I think it is big. Next time, I try it a little smaller. I didn’t use the instructions.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I’m going to make it again. It’s very easy to sew.

Conclusion
Comfortable, attractive knit skirt.

Leave a Reply

