BurdaWOF Magazine – 04-2003-156 (Raglan Top)

eyeletPattern Description: 
A pullover raglan sleeve top with elastic neckline. The skirt in the picture is from another pattern.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Pretty much. I left off the front ruffles.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
They were. Of course, I’d made the dress version, so I was familiar with the process. The top is much easier, in all respects, than the dress was.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like woven t-shirt patterns with elastic necklines. I think it solves the problem of the too big neckhole on woven t-shirts. That is, the neckhole has to be very large to get over you head, so the shirt doesn’t hang well; it’s like it’s too big. This was a raglan sleeve version. I’m sure DD doesn’t care if she gets 30 t-shirts from the same pattern, but I like a little variety when I sewing up leftover fabric.

Fabric Used:
100% cotton white eyelet from Joann’s. It’s leftover from DD’s frilly dress

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
None.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I think I will make it again. I didn’t care for the dress that has this same style top, and for some reason, I had trouble putting the sleeves in the dress. But it was easy in the top. Practice makes a difference.

Conclusion
Nice summer t-shirt out of woven.

Leave a Reply

