DH’s Sweatshirt Review

I finished DH’s sweatshirt.

UPDATE: I changed the photo to one of DH in his sweatshirt. Note the sizing of the sweatshirt. It’s way too big. The too short sleeves are my fault. DH was between sizes, and I sized up because the goal here is much heavier windpro sweatshirt. But I think it is still way too big. I think maybe the same rule applies to men wrt sizing; that is, if you are between sizes, size down.
Pattern Description: kwik sew 3028The pullover sweatshirt has extended shoulders, a ribbing neckband, hemmed cuffs and hemmed waist.
This version is a fitting toile. DH wants a plain sweatshirt out of windpro.

Pattern Sizing:
I made a large for chests 42-44 inches. DH’s chest is 41.5 inches, but I decided on a loose fit. It’s a sweatshirt, and the windpro is much bulkier than the toile fabric.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I mixed the 2 views and used a contrasting ribbing for the neckline. Other than that, yes, it looks like the picture.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Typical Kwik Sew; excellent instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
DH liked the style. I don’t think there’s anything that he disliked about it. I liked the ease of sewing.

Fabric Used:I used a heavy weight single knit fabric for the body of the sweatshirt. It was a garage sale fabric, and I’m unsure of the content. The neckband is a poly/cotton ribbing.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I shortened the sleeves about 4 inches. I’m very concerned that he requested them too short. We’ll see when he tries on the finished product.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I’m going to make him another one out of the windpro. I may make him more. I may not; he’s fussy and difficult to sew for. I definitely recommend it to others.

Conclusion
This is a great men’s sweatshirt pattern.

Leave a Reply

