Sandra Betzina Purse

V7862

Pattern Company: Vogue Patterns
Pattern Number: V7862
Pattern Name: Shoulder Bag in 2 sizes

Description:
From the pattern envelope:Package includes patterns and instructions to make lined travel Bag A: average size,161/2″ × 11″, 36″ overall including straps. Bag B: petite size, 161/2″ × 9″, 32″ overall including straps. Compartments use invisible zippers for closures.

This is a shoulderbag with 3 pockets. There is one smaller pocket in each strap and one main pocket with a vertical zipper closure in the bag section.

Sizing:
The bag comes in 2 sizes. I made the smaller one. It makes a moderately sized purse. The large one must be very big.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I know it’s hard to tell from my pictures, but I think it did.

Instructions
The instructions are marvelous. They offer 2 options for putting in the zippers, but IMNSHO, the invisible zipper is the easiest zipper to put in.

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
I don’t think that there’s anything that I dislike about this pattern. The style isn’t particularly stylish. I find it to be very functional. Others have mentioned that the vertical zipper on the main pocket is problematic, but I’ve been using my purse for a few weeks, and I’m not having any troubles.

The best part of the pattern is that it’s a quick fix. Two hours max, and you have a new purse.

Fabric
I used leftover fabric from my last pair of pants.

zipper detail
Zipper detail

Pattern Alterations/Design Changes:
I did not sew across the top of the strap pockets, and I did not line the purse.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I think I will sew it again. It’s so easy and quick to make.

I do recommend it. I think this would be a fabulous pattern for a two hour class for beginning sewists.

Conclusion
It’s an easy, quick purse.

Leave a Reply

